Catholic School Interview - What do you think?

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by veronicany87, Jul 11, 2015.

1. veronicany87

veronicany87 Rookie

Jul 11, 2015

Hey everyone,

I went on an interview at a Catholic School last Monday (the 6th). It's my DREAM school to work in, I've been sending my resume in for over 2 years and finally got an interview. The principle was VERY nice (she's a nun), and she made me feel extremely comfortable. The entire interview lasted for 45 minutes, which is the longest interview I've ever been on. Aside from asking me the standard questions, she also spent a lot of time trying to talk up the school to me. Towards the middle of the interview, she informed me that she had 2 positions opened; one for 2nd grade, and one for 3rd. She asked me which grade I would feel more comfortable teaching in, and I told her that truthfully, I feel comfortable in both grades (I've been subbing for almost 2 years now and I do TRULY like both of those grade levels).

She then made me fill out a pre-employment form, which pretty much just contained a question asking for my social security number, and then a number of standard questions, such as "what are your strengths?". I've never filled out any type of pre-employment form in any other job interview, so I'm not sure if that's a good indicator, or just something she makes everyone fill out during an interview. She also asked me if I would be able to get her a copy of my college transcript; when I asked if it has to be official, she told me unofficial would be fine for now. She didn't specify a date in which I should have it to her, though.

She asked me if she could contact my references, which I told her absolutely. The only problem is, I don't have that many references. As a substitute, I've been in mainly 1 school, and I've also been working in a Children's Museum for the past year so I gave my boss as a reference as well. My lack of references is my only concern.