Catholic/Christian School Pay

Discussion in 'General Education' started by amedinaoh, Apr 10, 2011.

1. amedinaoh

amedinaoh Companion

Apr 10, 2011

deleted

3. Aliceacc

Aliceacc Multitudinous

Apr 10, 2011

I'm on Long Island, in the suburbs of NYC.

Admittedly, I've been teaching for 25 years.

But I'm in a Catholic high school and make over twice that.

4. waterfall

waterfall Virtuoso

Apr 10, 2011

It really depends on the school and how much money they have. I'm from OH- my mom has worked at a christian school for 15 years and she makes less than 30k. My first year teaching salary is higher than hers. My friend interviewed at a catholic school where the starting salary was 25k. I'm not sure what it would be for someone with more experience, but I assume it would still be quite low.

5. cmw

cmw Groupie

Apr 10, 2011

I worked through the Diocese of Cleveland for 5 years before I made it into a public school. At one school I ended at around $26,000. At another I was part time (4 days a week) and at $25,000. There are usually tons of posting through the diocese website. Good luck!:D

6. scholarteacher

scholarteacher Connoisseur

Apr 11, 2011

After 22 years in Christian schools, I made $29K. Our starting public school teachers here make $33K.

7. DrivingPigeon

DrivingPigeon Phenom

Apr 11, 2011

The private school where my friend teaches pays first-year teachers $22,000. Public school teachers in that city start at $33,000.

8. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

Apr 11, 2011

I LOVED my time in Catholic schools...but with a new home and college looming for my kids, I made the switch to public years ago. My salary increased by 2 1/2 times.

9. WaterfallLady

WaterfallLady Enthusiast

Apr 11, 2011

My friend works in a Christian school in Ohio and makes less than 30K.

10. YoungTeacherGuy

YoungTeacherGuy Phenom

Apr 11, 2011

I can't get over the pay for private school teachers! I believe I made $45,000 my first year teaching (public school, of course).