Cataloging Classroom Library Books

Discussion in 'Elementary Education Archives' started by MrsV, Jun 26, 2007.

1. MrsV

MrsV Rookie

Jun 26, 2007

I am trying to set up my classroom library.

I was lucky enough to aquire hundreds of books from different sources.

I was wondering how do you guys catelog your books and keep track of them? I want to start a master list of all the books I have, but I am not very good with excel. I would like to find an easy way to alphabetize it too because I do not have time to go through all the books and put them in alphabetical order.

Are there any programs that would work better than excel? How did you do it?

3. Caesar753

Caesar753 Multitudinous

Jun 26, 2007

You could try MS Access, but it's no easier than Excel. Once you get it set up, though, it's good for rearranging the lists by author or title or subject without compromising the list itself.

You could set up a plain table in MS Word, which is probably what I'll be doing for my own books next year.

As far as organizing them alphabetically or whatever, I'm probably going to categorize them by subject (target language, culture, anthologies, lexicons, etc.), and then alpha by author from there. It's going to take some time, I know, but I think it will be good in the end.

4. pwhatley

pwhatley Maven

Jun 26, 2007

Actually, if you set up the spreadsheet right in Excel, you can sort them by whatever criteria you want, as long as it has its own column (Author's Last Name, Genre, Title, Subject, etc.).

5. Caesar753

Caesar753 Multitudinous

Jun 26, 2007

I must be doing something wrong then because every time I try it, it sorts the column I've selected, but it leaves the rest of the spreadsheet alone! The end result is that the new column doesn't match up with the other info.

6. funeoz

funeoz Comrade

Jun 26, 2007

7. pwhatley

pwhatley Maven

Jun 26, 2007

You have to select the entire data sheet, then sort it by the column you want.

8. lnewbigging