Carney and Sandoe/Independent Schools

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by houseofbooks, Aug 29, 2015.

1. houseofbooks

houseofbooks Companion

Aug 29, 2015

Good morning!

I was wondering if anyone here had experience finding a private school job with Carney and Sandoe. I'd applied on their website two years ago and was rejected due to lack of experience (I had 1.5 years of leave replacement, public school experience at the time).

However I want to give it another try since I have 1) two years of private school experience under my belt now and 2) more means at my disposal to relocate. I already have a Masters degree in my subject area (English) and a standard teacher certification.

I want to apply this September for positions available next August (2016). Independent jobs are posted earlier than public school ones, I think.

So if you have experience with Carney and Sandoe, could you tell me what it was like? How did they arrange interviews? Did you go to any job fairs? Etc, etc, etc.

If you were hired at an independent school, without a placement agency, feel free to comment on your experience too.

Thanks, folks!

For those of you still seeking a job for THIS year (as I've said, I'm staying put for now): I wish you the best of luck. Schools in NJ are still hiring, apparently, and I'm sure it's the same in other parts of the country!

3. teachartk-12

teachartk-12 Rookie

Aug 29, 2015

Hi there, I applied with them years ago. I got an email back saying that I would need to broaden my search scope. I live in NY and am not willing to travel beyond an hour - I have 3 kids.

So in my experience, it didn't help. But I say always use as much resources and tell as many people as you can that you are looking.
    Have you tried NAIS? I got a few interviews from that website and a job offer (which I decline)

good luck

4. physteach

physteach Companion

Aug 29, 2015