Career Switcher-And Wanting to Sub

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by mrsteach, Jul 30, 2014.

1. mrsteach

mrsteach Rookie

Jul 30, 2014

Hello all! I am new to this forum. I am a career switcher. I have a Master's in Accounting. I am a CPA and CFE (Certified Fraud Examiner) I do teach a couple night classes at a local for-profit college. But I have gone back to the local university to get my teaching certificate. I will be getting certified to teach High School Business. When I was in college working part time at the bank, my major was actually elementary education, but I ended up changing majors to a business related degree. Now I am ready to get back to teaching, but I want to use my business degree and have decided I really prefer the older students to younger ones.

My dream job would be with the district where I live. My son grew up in and graduated from this district. My daughter will be going through this district soon. (Yep, my children are very far apart in age.)

I actually did sub in this district for one year, well over ten years ago. (I remember my very first day subbing was 9/11.)

This all leads to a couple questions:
    1. Do I have a chance at getting hired? Being a little bit older and a little more expensive (based on salary schedules I have seen) than someone younger with a bachelor's degree, I don't know if that is a factor to many school districts. Essentially, will I get the "Your overqualified" argument?

2. I am thinking of subbing again to become more familiar to the district. Should I sub in just this district or should I sub for other local districts in the area as well? Can one sub for more than one district?

Thank you for any input!

3. giraffe326

giraffe326 Virtuoso

Jul 30, 2014