Career Dilemma - Please advise!

Discussion in 'General Education' started by Doug_HSTeach_07, Oct 23, 2009.

1. Doug_HSTeach_07

Doug_HSTeach_07 Comrade

Oct 23, 2009

Hello all,

I have an incredible dilemma on my hands- do I go into administration or not? Here's the situation: I am at a small, rural school that starts out at $22,000/yr. I am in my third year and am a FT bus driver, as well as a coach for Junior high track and JV basketball.

For the past 8 weeks I have been slaving away at my masters online program in Educational Administration. However, I was told today that if I don't pursue the position at our school and remain in the classroom, the difference is only $500/yr. on the pay scale. My fellow colleagues warned me this morning about becoming an administrator, and I'm having serious second thoughts.

I just got engaged too and I want to support a family.

I love being in the classroom. I love coaching. My fiance will move in with me after we get married and could start teaching at this same school next year. She will be 100 miles away from her family and we want to relocate there someday, though.

Is there any way to continue doing what I love while at the same time being able to provide for a family? I am torn.

3. mrachelle87

mrachelle87 Fanatic

Oct 23, 2009

Some middle size schools hire asst. principals that coach. Start looking. My dad was at a small school where he was a "teaching principal." He taught a few classes a day (one was coaching middle school) and was principal over half a day. Made principal salary, but was with kids also. I think he was a better principal because he understood that kids behaved different in class.

4. chemteach55

chemteach55 Connoisseur

Oct 23, 2009