Career Change?

Discussion in 'General Education' started by Iris228, Jan 10, 2008.

1. Iris228

Iris228 Rookie

Jan 10, 2008

Hi guys! I am so frustrated looking for a job here in NJ. I graduated with an Elementary Ed/Psych degree. Everyone says I have to pay my dues and I will get something eventually...I just don't know how long I'll have to wait.

I am currently subbing and considering going back to school for a MA to help me in my quest to land a teaching job. Recently I have been considering that I should switch gears altogether. I know that I want to work with children, and I do LOVE teaching but I was thinking I might put those skills to use by getting a MA in school psych. or speech therapy. I don't even know if the job prospects in these fields are any better and if it'd fulfill me the way I think teaching would...I guess I'm just looking for a little friendly advice/opinion.

Thanks for letting me vent....

3. Caesar753

Caesar753 Multitudinous

Jan 14, 2008

Would you consider relocating?

4. Iris228

Iris228 Rookie

Jan 14, 2008

I might consider relocating, I know it can be really difficult to get a job here in NJ for many teachers. I'm just a little hesitant to be too far away from my friends and family. Where are they in desperate need of teachers?? All I hear about is how there is a need for teachers, but apparently not for those teaching K-5!

5. Caesar753

Caesar753 Multitudinous

Jan 14, 2008

Here in Las Vegas there's always a shortage of good teachers. It's because the district is constantly growing... it's currently the 5th largest district in the country, and they're expecting it to move up that list in a few years.

6. cheeryteacher

cheeryteacher Enthusiast

Jan 14, 2008

Maybe you can look at museums and libraries.

7. teresaglass

teresaglass Groupie

Jan 14, 2008

Speech therapy is growing field. Get your MA in it.

8. Iris228

Iris228 Rookie

Jan 15, 2008