Career Change

Discussion in 'Elementary Education Archives' started by msjiao, May 8, 2007.

1. msjiao

msjiao Rookie

May 8, 2007

Hello everyone.

I will be moving to California in the next week.

I'd like to transition career paths (I recently gained admission to law school but I am not taking any of them) and work my way towards becoming a certified teacher.

I graduated with a BA from UVA and have two years of professional experience in the legal industry as a paralegal. During those two years, I was a volunteer ESL teacher through my church.

Can someone please provide me a detailed synopsis of what I need to do to become a certified teacher in CA?

Thank you very much!

3. TeacherGroupie

TeacherGroupie Moderator

May 8, 2007

You've posted in Elementary Education: do you mean to teach elementary school? If so, be warned that the market is tight - though if you're fluent in another language, you can probably qualify as a bilingual teacher, and that may open some doors for you.

A point of terminology: for reasons not clear to me, California teacher don't get certified or licensed, they get credentialed.

The Source Authority for credentialing questions would be the California Commission for Teacher Credentialing, http://www.ctc.ca.gov. Here's a good place for you to start: http://www.ctc.ca.gov/credentials/requirements.html.

It also makes a great deal of sense to check in with your local county office of education and to become a regular visitor at your local school of education (I believe all the California State University campuses have one). There are generally people in both places who can give you guidance that will suit your situation.

In broad outline, the credential candidate needs to prove basic skills and subject matter competence and go through a credentialing program.