Career advice

Discussion in 'General Education' started by horned_Frog89, Aug 27, 2013.

1. horned_Frog89

horned_Frog89 Companion

Aug 27, 2013

I recently graduated from college in December of 2012 with a BBA in Accounting. I've held a tax related job for 8 months now and I'm not too satisfied with my job, or the options I have available with my degree...desks + computer + excel all day is not my idea of a career. It's not fullfilling in anyway to me. Teaching is something I've always wanted to do/try, but at the time, I was led to a business degree by family 'suggestion.' I'm looking into becoming certified so I can teach middle/high school math, or even a business type class (I found business very interesting to learn, but not near as fun to apply).

From my research I see that I have two options: Post Bacc program or an alternative program. I have no classroom experience so I ideally need somthing with student teaching. However, my issue is that I have been on my own financially since I graduated. I don't want to just quite earning income for a year when I have bills to pay (i.e. Student loans). And I especially do not want to add to my debt as I am on an excellent path to have it paid off in 5-6 years.

But from my understanding, it can be hard to earn a position as an alt-cert teacher. There are a few programs that require 30 hours in the classroom with the alt-cert, but I know that in no-way competes with a semester of student teaching.

I'm really confused as what to do. I can always do online/night school and get as much savings put away to support myself during my transition, but the accountant in me does not like that idea.

All I know is that I want to get away from this desk job as soon as possible!

3. smalltowngal

smalltowngal Multitudinous

Aug 27, 2013