Career Advice for Someone Considering EI/EBD Teaching

Discussion in 'Special Education' started by PsychTeach, Jul 6, 2015.

1. PsychTeach

PsychTeach New Member

Jul 6, 2015

Hello,

I graduated two years ago with a BA in Psychology and have since been trying to figure out what I want to do with my life. Among other things, I've considered social work, school psychology, and teaching. I am particularly interested in teaching students with Emotional Impairments/Behavioral Disorders. I've volunteered in a Head Start classroom for the past three years and have loved the experience of working with the children there. I've mentored at risk elementary-school-age kids at a charter school as part of an internship for my undergrad degree. For the past six months, I've also been working at a residential treatment facility for teen girls in foster care who exhibit emotional and behavioral challenges, and I have greatly enjoyed that as well.

Basically, I know I enjoy working with children with EBD as well as working in a school setting. I guess I'm simply fishing for more info on EBD teaching before I make my final decision. Can any of the EBD teachers out there give me a realistic picture of a day in your life (I'm sure no two days are the same)? What kinds of disorders are the students on your caseload diagnosed with? Do you work more on general curriculum or life skills? Are the majority of EBD jobs in self-contained classrooms? Are there as many EBD jobs at the elementary level as the secondary level? From what you've seen in your schools, would I have better career prospects pursuing school psychology or school social work?

I apologize for all the questions. Thanks in advance!

3. bella84

bella84 Aficionado

Jul 6, 2015