Can't take away recess

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by Flanny108, Aug 25, 2014.

1. Flanny108

Flanny108 Rookie

Aug 25, 2014

In the past my punishment for not completing homework was to have the child miss recess. I am not allowed to use this as a punishment this year. What do you do for the kids who don't do their homework? I teach third grade and I don't think they really care about how it will impact their grade. I am new to this school, and apparently there's not a lot of parent support so I'm not sure how effective it would be to send a note home.

Any ideas???

3. waterfall

waterfall Maven

Aug 25, 2014

Taking away recess is "heavily frowned upon" at my school, so I don't do it either. You could have them do the homework during a preferred activity time in class. A lot of our teachers do "Friday fun" where students get to participate in a fun afternoon activity if they've completed all assignments. If they haven't, they have to spend the time finishing. That way you're setting up both a reward for completing the homework and a consequence for not completing it at the same time. You could also try other rewards for bringing it in. When I taught gen ed I got little sticker charts and had my students put a sticker on for each assignment they brought back. When their chart was full, they earned lunch with me (I'd also bring in ice cream treats for the lunch). I still didn't get everyone, but it did motivate some kids.

4. giraffe326

giraffe326 Virtuoso

Aug 25, 2014

We couldn't take away recess at my old school, either. I could take away their choice of activity though ;) It didn't allow them time to complete their homework, but repeat offenders would have to walk silent laps for a portion of recess. I made them catch up their work during a 'fun' time.

5. Busy Bug

Busy Bug Rookie

Aug 25, 2014