Can't Pass The Math Section of CBEST

Discussion in 'Basic Skills Tests' started by spitfire, Dec 31, 2009.

1. spitfire

spitfire Rookie

Dec 31, 2009

Hi,

I am new to this board. I am having problems passing the math section of the CBEST, I have taken this section 8 times only to have my score stay in the high 20's. Am I the only person who has been defeated by this test? I am so ready to call it quits.

I graduated with my BA in 07, and I would like to be a Special Ed teacher, focusing on Learning Disability, because I have a learning disability with math.

To make a long story short I grew up in the 60's with Modern Math, when the U.S. & Russia where facing off with the Cold War and trying to see who could go the moon first. I am also the product of the California public school education from K-8, then a Catholic Girls High school.

I went to a tutoring center, had a math tutor who is a 7th grade math teacher & just recently went to Ann Litvin for help, but I don't know if I will be returning to her.

Any advice would be welcome.

Thank you.

3. UCLACareerChngr

UCLACareerChngr Comrade

Dec 31, 2009

Only thing I can recommend is that you get a prep book and try to follow what it says. Lots of practice tests in there that should help. I don't think you need broad help, you just need focused help that will get you through the test. Has your learning disability been documented? Is it something that can earn you an accommodation on the test (additional time, etc)? Might be worth exploring, maybe the time pressure is a problem? Otherwise just try to get comfortable with the types of questions they ask...sorry can't think of what else to suggest...you just have to pass it! Good luck!

4. TeacherGroupie

TeacherGroupie Moderator

Dec 31, 2009

The left side of the score report gives diagnostic indicators for the different areas tested by CBEST. What are you seeing on yours, spitfire?