Can't handle it anymore!!!

Discussion in 'Kindergarten' started by myKroom, Oct 17, 2008.

1. myKroom

myKroom Habitué

Oct 17, 2008

My kids are driving me CRAZY!!! I'm honestly ready to quit! I'm in my 3rd year teaching K and I have yet to have a good year. This class has the most potential to be a wonderful group...but they just won't listen and they won't stop touching one another! I had a substitute the last three days and she put it best:

"I have never seen middle school behaviors from a group of 5 year olds!"

As a group they are blantantly defiant, refuse to listen, back talk, and TOUCH ALL THE TIME!!!!!! I'm not just talking touching that you can ignore...I'm talking snakebites, pinching, choking, etc. during group time! They are so IMPULSIVE! They what to do what they want...when they want! I have gone over rules until I'm blue in the face, they can recite them and tell me exactly what they are doing wrong. We have talked about ways to change our behaviors, modeled, done behavior charts, incentives, owing time at recess (which I hate doing)...they just don't care! I have changed some of my own style to see if they helps...and nothing!

I consider myself an average teacher...I'm still working out the kinks in my classroom and my teaching style. I am a very structured teacher. We spend lots of time on rules and procedures. I give thourogh directions and answer questions when needed. I also came from a family where we were taught to respect adults, especially our teachers. Kids are missing this component now...and I can't stand it!

It's hard because I see the potential for an amazing group of kids! They have days that are out of this world where they listen and obey and follow rules...but these days are few and far between! It's all I have to hold on to right now...and that is getting hard! :( I don't want to finish this year...but I have to!