Can't decide if I should teach language arts or social studies

Discussion in 'General Education' started by musicluver9001, Jul 23, 2015.

1. musicluver9001

musicluver9001 New Member

Jul 23, 2015

Hello everyone! I will be a sophomore in college this year, and I know I want to be a teacher, but I keep second guessing what I want to teach. Right now my major is integrated social studies, but there's this part of me that also wants to teach language arts. How do you decide? I love learning about the different cultures, and time periods, and whats happened throughout history, but I also love reading and discussing books. Is there any way I could teach both high school social studies and language arts? I know it's different for every state, I live in Ohio, but if anyone has any advice that would be great! Thank you!

3. teacherintexas

teacherintexas Maven

Jul 24, 2015

What is your minor?

I know several secondary teachers who are certified in two subjects. My mother is certified in English and history. One of my friends is certified in math and English.

4. ku_alum

ku_alum Aficionado

Jul 24, 2015

Typically, Social Studies jobs are difficult to find.

English is more than reading and discussing books. Outcomes for most English classes includes reading (fiction and non-fiction), writing (narrative, argumentative, expository), language (vocabulary, grammar, conventions), speaking (one-on-one, small group, large group), and listening.

I'm certified in English Language Arts (grades 6-12) and have a psychology endorsement (grades 9-12). Six of the classes I teacher each day are English, one is psychology.

You can end up certified in both. A dual-certified teacher would have a competitive edge in the job applicant pool.

5. dgpiaffeteach

dgpiaffeteach Aficionado

Jul 24, 2015