Cancelling a job last minute

Discussion in 'Substitute Teachers' started by Sunflowerteach, Oct 16, 2014.

1. Sunflowerteach

Sunflowerteach New Member

Oct 16, 2014

Hi all,
    So I am very new to the Subfinder and AESOP services as I have never been a sub, and I am finding myself to be all paranoid or scared out of my mind about cancelling a sub job! I haven't been feeling well, but shook it off knowing I need to work; however, this morning, I awoke to the nasty dry heaves and wonderful stomach ache (lovely, isn't it?!). I called subfinder and was notified that it was "too late" to cancel my job and to call the sub services help line for my district. I called the number, left a brief message detailing my assignment and have been awake with fear ever since. This is my very first time ever cancelling a job last minute (promise, totally is!), and I am freaked that the district will either (a) not find anyone to cover my 1/2 day assignment, or (b) will blackball me due to this one cancellation. All I want to do is rest and forget about the job, but I love making sure others are taken care of me/not left in a lurch. How do you not feel guilty about cancelling a job or two last minute? I know not to get in the habit of doing so, but I am afraid that this single incident will haunt me for my sub career. Any funny stories about similar things or words of encouragement will be greatly appreciated!

:love:Sunflowerteach:love:

3. Miz_Jay

Miz_Jay Companion

Oct 16, 2014

The sub coordinator in my district is always very adamant that as subs we have to do what's best for us. If we're sick then we stay home. Sometimes that means some rearranging has to be done.

As long as cancelling assignments isn't something that happens often, it's not something that the district will hold against you. They understand that people get sick, car trouble happens, a ton of other things.