Cancelled prep/specials

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by maestraraven96, Jun 29, 2019.

1. maestraraven96

maestraraven96 Rookie

Jun 29, 2019

I am a middle school teacher and I have my own homeroom. What happens to you guys when your prep time is cancelled due to the prep teachers (dance, art, gym, library, etc) are cancelled due to needing to sub somewhere else? Do you let them have free time or create a lesson to teach them instead?

3. Ima Teacher

Ima Teacher Maven

Jun 29, 2019

Ours are either divided among the other specials (band, guitar, art, computers, pe/health) or those of us on planning cover the class. We typically don’t do the whole class so it is as little as 10 minutes when we all take turns. We have a team of 8 teachers.

4. swansong1

swansong1 Virtuoso

Jun 30, 2019

Most of the schools I taught at only had three specials. Because the kids usually were not allowed recess, I always took them outside when a special area was cancelled.
    It kind of made me feel like a rebel because the younger teachers were usually too nervous to take their kids outside, thinking they would get written up for giving recess.

Leaborb192 likes this.
  5. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

Jun 30, 2019

I continue with my day...there’s always something to do! Missed preps RARELY happen in my school and we get paid for the missed time.

futuremathsprof likes this.
  6. MrsC

MrsC Multitudinous

Jun 30, 2019

If it is Phys Ed that the kids are missing, I'll usually take them to the gym or outside. For other subjects, it usually ends up being a "Catch up" period. We do get missed prep time paid back, but it sometimes takes a few weeks.

futuremathsprof likes this.
  7. Backroads

Backroads Aficionado

Jun 30, 2019

It was rare enough we went on with our day. We were usually forewarned, sometimes given options.

I think it's one thing to go with the flow when a special doesn't happen once in a blue moon. It's something else if it's a common occurrence.