Can you teach without your license?

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by History4Champs, Jul 15, 2015.

1. History4Champs

History4Champs Rookie

Jul 15, 2015

Hey everyone,

I’m a recent graduate from NY and my degree is a double major in Secondary Education/History.

I have one major concern at the most as a recent graduate. I have a demo lesson coming up and the school really wants to hire me (principal told me himself), the demo lesson is a requirement however. My issue is that I am not yet certified I am still in the process. This is stressing me out because I feel like I have a really good shot at getting hired at this school.

My edTPA scores come in tomorrow and I still have some exams to take. I have been hearing different things from different people but is it possible to teach for a year or so with some type of emergency certificate? I don’t know what you’d even call it…but basically a certificate that allows you to teach for some time while you get your license?

3. MikeTeachesMath

MikeTeachesMath Devotee

Jul 15, 2015

Why didn't you complete the CST, EAS, and ALST before your edTPA? Those should have been done during your junior and senior years. Did you fail them or just not take them?

I honestly don't know of any "emergency" license in NY like other states have.

4. Banana0

Banana0 Rookie

Jul 15, 2015

So, I'm from CA and not NY, but we are expected to be finished with all tests/requirements during the hiring process. My credential still had not gone through and I was awaiting some results when I taught my demo lesson and was hired, but I had completed all the requirements and it was really just a matter of everything being processed. I was credentialed by the time I signed my contract a few weeks later. I think NY is similar to CA in not having enough jobs to hire people who will not be credentialed. Can you schedule/take all of those exams now so you will be fully certified by the start of the school year?

5. TeacherGroupie