Can you help a teacher out?

Discussion in 'General Education' started by TeacherBug08, Feb 8, 2014.

1. TeacherBug08

TeacherBug08 Companion

Feb 8, 2014

Alright, I am a first year teacher at an inner city school. I have had my ups and downs, but overall I do like it. My school has a lot of extreme behaviors. I like the staff and administration. Here is the pickle: there is an opening at the school where I live. I have an "in" with the principal. The drive would be like 5 mins. And I know the behaviors would be much different. I don't know if I will have this "in" in how many years. However, I am sure i would be taking a huge pay cut. Also, my current school is a title school so after so many years all my student loans are forgiven. My current school will also pay a huge portion for me to go get my masters. What do you think? I am married and see myself having a family soon. If I stayed at my school I would be much better off in terms of money. However if I did decide to go with other school I think I would have less stress and have a permanent grade level (bubble teacher right now). I would love advice/suggestions.

3. Missy

Missy Aficionado

Feb 8, 2014

How important is the money to your family?

What is your gut feeling telling you to do?

4. teacherman1

teacherman1 Devotee

Feb 8, 2014

Personally, I'd stay...
    It would be a no-brainer for my wife and I as we both love working with diverse populations. She and I commuted 40 minutes to two different inner-city districts from our country home for all of our teaching careers.

The fact that you like your administration and colleagues is icing on the cake.

But ultimately, it's your decision. No one else could or should make it for you...

Good luck:)
    Teacherman

5. GTB4GT

GTB4GT Cohort

Feb 8, 2014

as others have said, this is a very personal decision. what is your current commute time? Time is money so if you can cut your drive time by x minutes a day don't forget the value of that.