Can you / do you require binders?

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by Lindsay.Lou, Jul 15, 2008.

1. Lindsay.Lou

Lindsay.Lou Companion

Jul 15, 2008

For my 9th grade World History class, I'd like to required organizedd binders and do regular binder checks. I want to do this because they have their standardized state test at the end of 10th grade, so I'd like them to have an organzied study resource to look back upon as they prepare for their standardized test. They won't be tested on the material they learn in my class for 1-1.5 years.

Anyways, on to my question. To do this, I'd like to require my students have 2" binders with looseleaf and dividers. My teachers did this for many of my classes when I was a high school student, so I didn't think it'd be a problem. Do you any of you guys require stuff like this for your classes? Should I ask administration first? (For what it's worth, I work in a very high-income community. I'd be willing to buy the materials for students who couldn't afford it because I'd sure those students wouldn't number more than a few, and I cleaned up at Staples' penny sale!).

3. ku_alum

ku_alum Aficionado

Jul 15, 2008

I don't think requiring a binder is unreasonable. My seniors build portfolios and use binders and dividers. I always offer to purchase these for students that might not have the cash (and I've always had 1 or 2 students take me up on it each year). I usually phrase it something like, "if cash is tight right now have a conversation with me and I can help you out ... you can pay me back when you are able." I NEVER remind a kid to pay me back, if he does, he does, if he doesn't, oh well.