can I see your welcome letters

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by caligirl880, Aug 9, 2007.

1. caligirl880

caligirl880 New Member

Aug 9, 2007

This is my first year teaching and I am feeling totally overwhelmed. I was hoping to see an example of a welcome letter.

Thanks

3. Hamster

Hamster Comrade

Aug 9, 2007

I am going to send home a Newsletter with all the info they need. It really isn't a welcome letter. It is more of a welcome newsletter.

4. RainbowsEnd

RainbowsEnd Rookie

Aug 9, 2007

I'm new also . . . and feeling overwhelmed. In case it helps, here's my letter.

Dear Parent or Guardian,

I would like to welcome you and your student back to school! I am very excited to be here with your children, and look forward to a successful and fun year of learning. I hope to challenge all of my students to perform at their best levels in language arts and in life.

I believe that each student is an individual. What is best for one might not be best for another. So, in order to challenge students as individual learners, I need your help. I have created some questions, which I hope you will answer, to help me get to know your child from your perspective. Please answer in as much or as little detail as you feel comfortable, and have your child return these questions to me by Thursday. I hope to use these questions as a tool to help all of my students. In the interest of the students, I also encourage you to contact me at anytime should you have any questions or concerns.

In class today, your child received a class syllabus that outlines classroom rules and procedures for the year. For homework, they have been asked to go over this syllabus with you, and return the slip below with your signature and theirs. It is important to me that you know what is going on in class, and what expectations your child will be held to throughout the year; your signature simply ensures that you have been made aware of these expectations.