Can I brag for a minute??

Discussion in 'Sixth Grade' started by cdorey13, Oct 2, 2007.

1. cdorey13

cdorey13 Rookie

Oct 2, 2007

Hi everyone! This is my 6th year of teaching but after having a baby a little over a year ago we relocated (back home for me!) so I could be near my family again. That was last fall and I got hired after school started as a temporary teacher for the year... 1st grade. I got a call at 4:30 on the last day of school telling me that I had a job, if I chose to accept it, but they weren't sure which school and which grade. About two weeks before school started I got called to "interview" with some principals, I already had a job it was just deciding where I would end up and there were 4 of us teachers in the same boat. There was a K, two 4th grades, and a 6th grade open. As you can guess, I got the 6th... I was SHOCKED and nervous but this year has been going EXTREMELY well, other than I am studying the curriculum EVERY night! I can't honestly teach it well, until I RE learn it all myself! LOL! Well, today was my 1st formal observation with my "new" principal and I was a little nervous because I really have not been observed to this extent since my 1st year of teaching BUT... the point to this all... IT WENT FANTASTIC! YEAH!! I just wanted to share with fellow teachers my excitement! My principal stayed for 40 minutes and said that she doesn't usually stay that long but she was really enjoying the lesson. She also said that she physically LOOKED for a student that was off-task because she was pleased with how engaged they were, not trying to find a fault! : ) It feels good to start out strong! YEAH! Thanks for letting me brag... sorry, just happy! :2up:

3. smalltowngal

smalltowngal Multitudinous

Oct 2, 2007

cdorey, that is GREAT to hear! Congrats on that and the baby!

4. ILovePalmTrees

ILovePalmTrees New Member

Oct 3, 2007

That's wonderful! Isn't it a great feeling when stuff like that happens? :)