Can all High School Teacher please respond to this question!?

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by Aspiringinstruc, Nov 24, 2009.

1. Aspiringinstruc

Aspiringinstruc Rookie

Nov 24, 2009

:)I am a Mathematics major with a concentration in secondary education. I want to become a high school teacher but I wanted some advice and opinions or any comments from teachers that are already teaching in high school. Do you love your job? what are the pros and cons? is the your salary really awful? is teaching really rewarding? tell me anything you can tell me. im in the process of beginning my major courses and i need to be sure i am in the right field. Thanks so much! God Bless

3. Aliceacc

Aliceacc Multitudinous

Nov 25, 2009

I've been teaching HS math since 1980, with the exception of 5 years I spent home with my kids. There's no other career in the world for me!

I'm in a Catholic high school on Long Island. Classroom management is pretty much a non-issue; the administration is incredibly supportive. That said, I'm pretty sure we're an exception. As a new teacher, you can probably expect to struggle a bit with classroom management until you develop your own style.

As to the salary: as Catholic school teachers, both my husband and I are paid a bit less than some (though not all) of our public school friends. Again, I think we're the exceptions-- private schools have the reputation of paying considerably less. Right now, with 3 kids and Christmas right around the corner, we're pretty broke, but that's because SOMEONE spent too much time shopping online :) We're able to afford vacations, our house is decent, and our kids aren't running around barefoot.