Calling All Teachers to Respond!

Discussion in 'General Education Archives' started by jessder14, Nov 8, 2002.

1. jessder14

jessder14 Guest

Nov 8, 2002

My name is Michele Davis. I am a previous teacher and published author. I am currently writing a book that is intended to give voice to the teaching profession from those in the trenches each day. The basics of this book are to outline and highlight some of the silly, ridiculous and downright impossible demands placed on teachers each day. I applaud teachers and understand specifically the depth and complexity of the profession. We often hear from administrators and parents, but rarely hear from teachers. This is your chance. For example, in Texas where I taught at the middle school level, there are significant issues with increasing class sizes that make it darn near impossible to do a great job. However, expectations continue to increase on the teachers leading to huge shortfalls in the state. This is a serious problem the “higher ups” can’t or won’t address. I welcome specific instances regarding issues such as these. Please feel free to vent, suggest better ways, provide input on what is important to you, or make me laugh or cry with your stories. I will take good and bad news. I wish to honor teachers and will not defame you in any way. You may send only your first name and state in which you teach if you are uncomfortable sending more detailed information. I will reserve the right to edit as needed to fit the book’s needs. Please forward all comments to jessder14@cableone.com. Please feel free to pass my name and email address on to other teachers.

3. Guest

Guest Guest

Nov 12, 2002

Well, I could go on forever on this one! But I thik that one of the biggest "complaints" is that we are forced to pay out of pocket for things, that are needed to teach! I would like to know in what other profession do people have to buy basic supplies for thier office?

4. Maxine

Maxine Companion

Nov 12, 2002