Calling all teachers for advice

Discussion in 'General Education Archives' started by CareBear, Aug 10, 2005.

1. CareBear

CareBear Rookie

Aug 10, 2005

I have an issue that is bothering me and I really need some advice fast! I have been searching for a teaching job since I graduated last Dec. I subbed last spring long and short term. I have sent out numerous resumes and had 2 interview. One of the interviews was in a school I student taught and subbed in. I know most of the staff and am extremely familiar with the school. The position was given to some one else. I was quited bummed about it. I have come to the realization that I will probably not find a teaching job this year and I am satisfied with subbing. I have had some long term sub jobs mentioned to me for later this year.

Now here is my issue... The school that I was in half of the year, and didn't hire me for the teaching job wants to know if I would want to be an aide. I know that if I sub I could work alot in this school along with some other area schools. I just don't know anymore that if it would be that beneficial for me to be an aide just to stay within the school for a teaching job next year since this year they knew me very well and I still wasn't selected. I just need to hear some opinions. Thank you! :confused:

3. Miss W

Miss W Phenom

Aug 10, 2005

The last two years, both of our aides were hired as teachers the following years. If a new classroom happens to open up in the middle of the year, you might be considered for that.

4. Ali

Ali Companion

Aug 10, 2005

Settling for an aide position might just be what you have to do to get a job in this district. The fact that they didn't hire you this year does not mean that they won't next year. If there was only one position, I'm sure the competition was stiff. You have to do what sounds best to you but I say accept the aide position.

5. NikkiP

NikkiP New Member

Aug 10, 2005

Think about it~!