Calling all Californians: How do I get from Temporary to Probationary?

Discussion in 'General Education' started by ms.irene, Mar 6, 2015.

1. ms.irene

ms.irene Connoisseur

Mar 6, 2015

I am in my first year in a great district, but on a Temporary contract. Apparently, all new hires in this district are hired as Temporary. (This seems to be the case in most districts in the area, not sure about the rest of the state?). I just read in the school board minutes that all Temporary teachers, and some Probationary teachers, will be given layoff notices due to declining enrollment. It said that most will be rehired pending enrollment levels and number of sections needed.

My personal situation is a little complicated since I was initially hired at 40% to teach a world language, and then was given two other sections at the last minute (one English and one more WL on another campus). So I am 80% currently, but technically I am like three entities in terms of contract, I think.

My question is, does anyone know what it takes to go from Temporary to Probationary under these circumstances? I talked to my union rep and she made it sound like someone would have to retire in order for me to get a tenure-track contract.

How long can I expect to be stuck in limbo like this? I can't stand the idea of ending every school year not knowing if I will be hired back and at what percentage :(

3. daisycakes

daisycakes Companion

Mar 7, 2015

I went from temporary to probationary after 30 days automatically.

4. YoungTeacherGuy

YoungTeacherGuy Phenom

Mar 7, 2015