Called out of retirement

Discussion in 'Teacher Time Out' started by becky, Feb 26, 2012.

1. becky

becky Enthusiast

Feb 26, 2012

I've been asked to work with my sister's 4 yr old granddaughter, to help her be ready for kindergarten. As far as I know, she's had no formal educational exposure. I don't know where to start. How should I approach this? Is there a good assessment I could use, to determine a starting point?

Lol-just when I was getting used to my bon-bons and Days of Our Lives..;)

3. Peachyness

Peachyness Virtuoso

Feb 27, 2012

Hmmm, it's been awhile now since I taught kinder and I've never worked with preschoolers before. But I know as a kinder teacher, it was TRULEY helpful in the beginning of the year when entering kinder kids came in knowing:

1) how to write their name
    2) share
    3) sit still for short time periods (we'll work up, but in the beginning, I need their attention for at least a few minutes)
    4) how to wash their hands/use the restroom
    5) how to hold a pencil
    6) colors (I color code things in the classroom and it's just really helpful if they come in knowing at least the basic colors- blue, green, yellow, and red).
    7) tie their own shoes, button up or zip up their own pants and clothes
    8) names of body parts
    9) just being read to. Read read read! :)

As to the starting point, your sister's granddaughter still has a few months before entering kinder. So, I would begin with one or two things and work with those at a time. And make it all a game, if you can. Like, when writing her name, use messy stuff like shaving cream or use a paintbrush and water and "paint" her name on the sidewalk.

4. Blue

Blue Aficionado

Feb 27, 2012

I would suggest some group time--ballet, dance, swim, gym. She needs to be comfy and confident in groups.

5. Aliceacc

Aliceacc Multitudinous

Feb 27, 2012

Good for you Becky; I bet you miss it!

6. becky

becky Enthusiast

Feb 27, 2012