California Teaching Credential

Discussion in 'General Education' started by vladib2b, Apr 17, 2009.

1. vladib2b

vladib2b New Member

Apr 17, 2009

Hi, I've been a high school teacher for 13 years. My wife is a tutor (in fact, for AtoZ) and she also wants to break into teaching as an elementary school teacher. What is the most inexpensive program in California? She has a Bachelor's in Psychology and Master's in Marriage and Family Therapy. Obviously, she used to be a counselor but now wants a career change. So two questions:

1. (once again) What is the least expensive way toward a teaching credential in California?

2. What, if any, value do the degrees that she currently holds have toward a credential?

I am hoping an angel out there can help us with an answer. She really wants to be a teacher. But money's tight with the tuition she's paying for her Master's in Counseling. We don't anticipate any financial aid outside of a loan.

3. TeacherGroupie

TeacherGroupie Moderator

Apr 17, 2009

Will any of her units transfer toward the credential? Probably not. Will the background they give her be useful in the classroom? Probably.

She might do well to see whether the APLE program is still going - this is a program that assumes a fairly hefty chunk of one's student loans if one is willing to teach for up to four years in an underserved area, and I believe there's a list of eligible schools on the Web site of either the Commission for Teacher Credentialing (http://www.ctc.ca.gov) or the California Department of Education (http://www.cde.ca.gov).

Most of the CSUs have reputable programs that are, as these things go, cheap: she could contact the nearest CSU's school of education for more information. An accelerated program, if it isn't hideously inconvenient, would have the additional advantage of being over with faster.

One caveat: at the moment, finding jobs in elementary education is... um... a challenge.

4. vladib2b

vladib2b New Member

Apr 17, 2009

Thanks!