Calendar Activities

Discussion in 'Preschool' started by diggerdeb, Jul 28, 2007.

1. diggerdeb

diggerdeb Comrade

Jul 28, 2007

I have been teaching Pre-K for many years. My students will all be four by Dec.1. (so some will still be three in Sept.)

Sometimes I get bored with "calendar time" Sometimes I feel like I am wasting their time. I know there must to 101 things to make calender time educational and fun but right now all I can think of is boring stuff.

How do YOu use your calender?

I count days, sing days of the week song, talk about the month, or season. We do patterns. Anything else?

3. LittleDuckie

LittleDuckie Rookie

Jul 28, 2007

I just got the cutest puppet/book. His name is "Monday the Bullfrog" and the book talks about what Monday wants to eat each day of the week. Very cute! I have 3s and they love him!

4. preskoolteacher

preskoolteacher Rookie

Jul 28, 2007

i have 3 yr olds also, and they always do some kinds of exercising everyday say it is the 15 of july, then they will do 15 jumping jacks, or clap 15 times f some type of ovemnt, it keeps thier attention way longer than anythng i have come to yet

5. Dzenna

Dzenna Groupie

Jul 29, 2007

I use a weekly calendar, not a monthly one. We talk about the day of the week and what is on the schedule for the day. If it is Friday, we discuss the children's plans for the weekend. If it's Monday we discuss what they did on the weekend. We also look at the weather and look at the weather pattern for the week.

6. Mrs_Barrett

Mrs_Barrett Cohort

Jul 29, 2007

In the past I have had 4 and 5 y/os. This year I have a mixture of 3-5 y/os. Mostly 4 and 5 though. Here is what I do for calendar:

Sing the good morning song
    Read the morning message
    Helper counts how many days are on the calendar
    We sing the weather song
    They put the today, yesterday and tomorrow clothes on the bears
    We sing today, yesterday, and tomorrow song
    Sing days of the week song
    Complete the pattern