CAD in High School

Discussion in 'High School' started by thegirlinaz, Mar 3, 2009.

1. thegirlinaz

thegirlinaz Rookie

Mar 3, 2009

I have my associates degree in Computer Aided Design and Drafting Technology and a bachelors degree in Technical Graphics. Also, I have a few years of employment working at a civil engineering firm (as a civil drafter) where I use Civil 3D (CAD) every day.

My questions are:
    1. If I wanted to teach autoCAD in high school I am qualified, correct?
    2. Is CAD taught at your high school where you work? (It wasn't taught at my high school, but I hear it is pretty common)
    3. Does the CAD teacher at your school teach only CAD classes, or other subjects also?
    4. What CAD programs do they use?
    5. Do they teach just the basics of how to use the program, or go in depth with different subjects like architecture, mechanical engineering, civil engineering, etc?

Sorry for so many questions, but I want to know some of the specifics :p

3. ku_alum

ku_alum Aficionado

Mar 3, 2009

You would need to be certified, but some vocational teaching programs allow you to certify while you teach. Check into vocational certifications or career teacher certifications in your state.

CAD is taught in my HS. The teacher also has video productions classes and he is also responsible for the yearbook (strange, I know).

As for programs, I don't know. I think I've heard my students talk about Rhino and AutoCad ... or did I just make those up?

And, I don't know how far they go into the information ... I think they study home design ... I don't hear my students talking about engineering (though they have an interest in it for college).

4. cheeryteacher

cheeryteacher Enthusiast

Mar 4, 2009

You would have to get certified. What you need to do in order to get certified varies by state.

I know my high school had CAD because my sister took it, but I don't know much else about it.

5. adventuresofJ

adventuresofJ Comrade

Mar 4, 2009