CA teachers... question about layoffs

Discussion in 'General Education' started by Rox, Feb 14, 2010.

1. Rox

Rox Cohort

Feb 14, 2010

I understand there's some rule that CA teachers have to be notified of the possibility of being laid off by March 15. How does this work? Do they have to give you a letter that is addressed directly to you? Is a letter addressed to all staff considered the official notice? I also heard about a deadline in May? Can someone explain the whole process to me?

I did receive a memo addressed to all staff discussing definite layoffs within the district, but I don't know if I'm supposed to consider this my official notice?

This is my first year of teaching, so I'm definitely on the chopping block :( Does anyone have any advice?

3. TeacherShelly

TeacherShelly Aficionado

Feb 14, 2010

In my district, they routinely (and have for decades) send an official letter to each non-tenured teacher saying they may not be needed next year. Then later, they hire back almost everyone. I am expecting my letter very soon. Not to say I'm looking forward to it, but I don't dread it either since I am confident everything possible will be done to hire me back. I don't pack my room, in other words! Here's to our mutual success!

4. teacherfan

teacherfan Cohort

Feb 14, 2010

They have to let you know by March 15 if you MAY be laid off. Then they have to let you know by May 15(?) for a definite yes or no. At least that is how I heard it works!

5. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

Feb 15, 2010

My district (NJ) works the same as Shelly's ...non-tenured teachers get a letter hand delivered to them in March stating that pending budget vote (April) and district needs, they can not at this time be offered emplyment for the next school year. It's stressful, but it's a heads' up...By May, teachers know whether they'll be back, but it doesn't hurt if you feel under the gun to send the resumes out just in case.

6. msmullenjr

msmullenjr Devotee

Feb 15, 2010