Buzz words for preschool

Discussion in 'Preschool' started by mom2sands, May 20, 2008.

1. mom2sands

mom2sands Comrade

May 20, 2008

If I were to have a pre-K interview, what would be the buzz words for teaching styles, classroom management, curriculum, etc.? I'm more accustomed to elementary rather than preschool. My degree is
    pre-K - 6, but the instructional emphasis was placed on grades 1-5 moreso than anything else. I have viewed the Pre-K site that was posted and found it very helpful. Thanks. Any pointers that you might give will be appreciated! :)

3. Taliesin

Taliesin Rookie

May 20, 2008

off the top of my head- whole child, developmentally appropriate practice, anti-bias curriculum

4. emmakate218

emmakate218 Connoisseur

May 20, 2008

Definitely developmentally appropriate practice (DAP)!

Routines & transitions, whole child (all domains - social, emotional, mental, physical), Piaget & Erikson's stages during pre-k, know about what you can do for the pre-k student as far as reading and writing...

...if you really want to know more about pre-k and early childhood edu in general, you can study some models such as the montesorri approach, the high/scope approach, the project approach (neat one!)...and then you will be able to get an idea of how you would structure your pre-k class if you ever did teach that grade level.

5. Teacher2Be123

Teacher2Be123 Companion

May 21, 2008

NAEYC if they are a nationally accredited preschool

6. letsteach

letsteach Comrade

May 21, 2008

I talk about focussing on what the child CAN do rather than what they can't yet do. It is from what they CAN do that planning can start. This means teaching a differentiated curriculum whereby children are taught using different work to reach the same goal. I guess planning for the individual.

The importance not only of DAP but a positive supportive learning environment.