Buying stuff for classroom

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by Haley Kraemer, Jul 7, 2016.

1. Haley Kraemer

Haley Kraemer Rookie

Jul 7, 2016

I am currently an unemployed teacher. I anticipate working my first full-time teaching position in the fall. I am wondering what I can do to prepare, and do I start buying a bunch of stuff for the classroom? Keep in mind that I am someone who really feels better/less anxious when I am prepared. If I don't start buying things, what kinds of things can I get or do to be prepared if I don't know what I am teaching?

3. talknteach

talknteach Rookie

Jul 7, 2016

Do you have classroom library books? Do you have storage for them- book bins, tubs, etc?

Do you have any idea if you will be primary or intermediate? An ABC chart that runs along the top or bottom of the classroom is great, but if you will be teaching cursive you need that rather than print. Grades 2-3 would need both.

Classroom rug
    Teacher chair for gathering time- a rocking chair in case upholstered is not allowed! It can also double as a sharing chair.

Popsicle sticks for choosing names for things- jobs, sharing, lining up, etc.

Good luck!

cocobean likes this.
  4. teacherintexas

teacherintexas Maven

Jul 7, 2016

Read the state standards for the levels you are applying to and get to know them well. Not only will that help you in your first position, it would help you get your first job.

Besides building up your classroom library, right now you should focus on your job search. Do you have any interviews coming up? Have you been on any?

Read the interview threads on this forum. If you don't have any interviews coming up, send your cover letter and resume to every principal within your commuting range.

5. Haley Kraemer

Haley Kraemer Rookie

Jul 7, 2016