Buying a new mattress

Discussion in 'Teacher Time Out' started by elizak83, May 10, 2009.

1. elizak83

elizak83 Companion

May 10, 2009

So I'm looking into buying a new mattress and I think that I really want a tempurpedic mattress. I've been looking online and they have a lot of different ones at different price points.
    Does anyone have one of these?? If you do let me know your experience please! (what model/ where'd you buy it/ do you like it?)

Thanks!

3. TennisPlayer

TennisPlayer Cohort

May 10, 2009

I don't know about those buy I absolutely love the Novaform matress topper pad that I've been using for about 3 years now. It makes such a difference in how rested I feel on it versus another matress by itself. I got it at Costco for around $100.
    Here's a random link I found for you just now that has more people's opinions about it!!
    http://ths.gardenweb.com/forums/load/furniture/msg082146262516.html

4. TeacherShelly

TeacherShelly Aficionado

May 10, 2009

This may be off the subject, but! If only I knew before! If you buy one of those enormously tall mattresses, especially the kind with the pillow top, ask for a "low profile box spring!" Unless you like your mattress being higher than your night stand (and the footboard, in my case) look into it.

HTH

5. Mrs. K.

Mrs. K. Enthusiast

May 10, 2009

We've had a Tempurpedic mattress for several years now. The only problem with it is that it's really hard to sleep anywhere else now! It's very comfy.

6. Blue

Blue Aficionado

May 10, 2009

Yes, love it. Would not have anything else. We tried one at my daughters house first. They are smelling and you get hot for a while, but after a month or so, all is well. I had back and hip problems, which have disappered due to the new mattress.

7. runsw/scissors

runsw/scissors Phenom

May 10, 2009