Buy a house before tenure?

Discussion in 'Teacher Time Out' started by Learner4Life, May 22, 2011.

1. Learner4Life

Learner4Life Cohort

May 22, 2011

So I'm in my 2nd year teaching and got my first pink slip this year. I got word this week that I will have my job back next year but the scare has got me and my hubby thinking... Should we wait until I have tenure to buy a house?

My husband and I were thinking we would start looking for a place this summer. The prices are right and the interest rate is still pretty low. I HATE the location of our apartment and I would really love to get out of here soon. I have been dreaming of owning a home longer than I had been dreaming of marriage!
    However, if I lost my job, we would almost have to look at moving in order for me to get a job. I'm in a small University town where the school districts hire from within or who their connected to and quite frankly, I'm not really connected here (I went to the rival university).

The pros and cons are so equal, I thought maybe I'd post this here to see if you guys could come up with something I couldn't!

3. mopar

mopar Multitudinous

May 23, 2011

How many years until tenure where you are?

Also, keep in mind that tenure might be on it's way out or at least moving in that direction....

That being said, I bought my first home prior to being tenured. You can't hold up your life for tenure and if you have to move, you can sell and move. It's more complicated, but still manageable.

4. MissCeliaB

MissCeliaB Aficionado

May 23, 2011

My husband and I bought our house before either one of us had tenure. Our mortgage payments are cheaper than rent was.

5. silverspoon65

silverspoon65 Enthusiast

May 23, 2011

The market is great now for a buyer but not for a seller. Just remember that if you really don't have any flexibility, at least for the next few years. If you decide to move too soon, you will lose money, and you might have a hard time selling it.