Butterfly Unit

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by Just_Beginning2, Jul 8, 2008.

1. Just_Beginning2

Just_Beginning2 Rookie

Jul 8, 2008

I am scheduled to do a unit on butterflies at the beginning of the school year. This is my first time doing the unit and I was wondering if anyone who has done a butterfly unit before could give some tips. Do you hatch your own butterflies and if so, how do you go about doing that? When is the best time to do it? Do you let them go when they are done? Im lost as far as this goes...:anyone:

3. ErikaG

ErikaG Rookie

Jul 8, 2008

This was my first year teaching and the butterfly unit was my favorite science unit. Our school has a company that they order the butterflies from. (I can't remember the name right off.) The larva comes in the mail and it takes about 2 weeks for them to go through their metamorphosis. I had about 9 of my larva to survive. I put them in individual clear plastic cups and assigned my students different butterflies to observe. They each had a butterfly journal and used it to record their observations (what stage the butterfly was in, how big, color etc). Once all of the butterflies emerged from their chrysalis we released them. We went outside, got in a circle, and reviewed some of the things that we learned about butterflies. Then we released them. The kids were so excited! They loved it! So did I! You'll have a lot of fun with this unit.

4. MsX

MsX Companion

Jul 8, 2008

I did a butterfly unit last year and yes we hatched them from eggs and watched them turn into butterflies. I bought them from a company called insectlore ( www.insectlore.com ). The kit was about 20 dollars and it comes with eggs and a net/cage where you can keep them. I dont remember exactly how long it took from eggs to butterflies but I think it was about 2-3 weeks. The kids really loved it.