Building better school software

Discussion in 'General Education' started by Eros, Jun 16, 2011.

1. Eros

Eros New Member

Jun 16, 2011

Hi all. I'm brand new to these forums. I should start out by saying that I'm not a teacher. I'm a software engineer (so please excuse all of my grammar mistakes).

I have a dream to build a better school information system (targeting k-12). I know I have all the talent to build something great, but I'm a developer - not a businessman. I was hoping I could get some feedback from teachers here to find out what kind of software they're using now and what are some of the issues they've having with them. Perhaps the perfect software has already emerged over the last 6 months and I'm wasting my time!

I'm not coming into this blindly. I've previously spent over two years working for a startup company developing a web-based school information system. I'm currently employed as a consultant for an online collaboration company (which really wants to get into the education space). My expertise is in user experience (user interface design, usability, basically… making things easy to use).

I realize developing a comprehensive school information system takes an enormous amount of time and money. Things like being SIF compatible and complying with other standards (i.e. QTI for assessments) takes a huge effort. So while that may be the ultimate goal, that's not my short term goal. My short term goal is to do a few things exceptionally well. For example, I will most probably start out with simplest things like taking attendance - hopefully making it easier to use than any of the current alternatives (including spreadsheets and simply paper!). Ideally, I would have teachers continuously involved (getting feedback, doing usability testing, etc.) during the whole process.

So hopefully some of you can give me some feedback!

I'm looking for things like:
    The type of software you're currently using.