Breaking anews employment offer

Discussion in 'General Education' started by Lindley_B, Jun 24, 2016.

1. Lindley_B

Lindley_B New Member

Jun 24, 2016

Hello,
    I am a new teacher facing a tough decision. I graduated in 2015 with my teaching degree and have been unable to find a job. I live in southern Illinois. Luckily I live 20 minutes from a major city in another statemail, so I am able to apply there as well. My problem is that it has been a year, and I've yet to find a job. After interviews I inevitably get the call saying they want a more experienceserious teacher. Out of desperation I applied to an inner city school, and was offered the pisition. Now I am unsure if I should take it. At first I was very excited, but now doubt has started to creep in. The school is known for widespread behavior issues and no administrative support. The arra itself is a little frightening. My family has been trying to talk me out of in lieu of substitute teaching in better areas. I have accepted the offer, but am not board approved yet, so I have not signed a contract. I feel like it would be easy to get out of, but I'm not sure if I should. This could give me the experience needed to get into a better district. Additionally, I have an interview in another district, but with any interview, the job is not guaranteed. Advice?

3. Lindley_B

Lindley_B New Member

Jun 24, 2016

I apologize for the typos, I just found them! My phone keyboard is a wreck!

4. mckbearcat48

mckbearcat48 Cohort

Jun 24, 2016

I'm right in the same area you are. Take the job if you can get it.

5. alilisa

alilisa Habitué

Jun 24, 2016

Definitely take the job and gain experience. If the school isn't for you, you can always apply to other schools again next year but then you will have a little experience under your belt! :)

6. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

Jun 24, 2016

You need some experience. Classroom teacher trumps subbing.

7. SCTeacher23

SCTeacher23 Comrade

Jun 24, 2016