Breaking a letter of intent

Discussion in 'General Education Archives' started by JerseyEnglish, Jun 5, 2007.

1. JerseyEnglish

JerseyEnglish Rookie

Jun 5, 2007

Hi Everyone,

I am a new teacher, and I was offered a position for a full year maternity leave. I signed a letter of intent and the actual contract will be presented to the Board of Education later this month. I now was offered another position with another district in middle school. This would be a full time position with the option to renew.

I don't know what to do! I don't know anything about contracts and breaking them. I had interviewed with the 2nd school district before signing the letter of intent. Could I lose my teaching license? I think I may prefer the 2nd district because I have the option to have my contract renewed after the first year. The 1st district I would have to hope that there will be some retirements in the 2008 school year.

Any advice you can give that would be excellent. I don't want to do the wrong thing and ruin my career before it begins.

Thanks
    ~JerseyEnglish~

3. mincc

mincc Companion

Jun 5, 2007