Brand new teacher/Lesson planning

Discussion in 'General Education' started by ashleydb, Jul 8, 2016.

1. ashleydb

ashleydb Guest

Jul 8, 2016

Hi Everyone! I'm a BRAND new teacher and will have my first class in September. I want to get a head start and start planning lessons for the first week etc. However, I have no clue where to start or what I SHOULD be teaching. I wasn't sure if someone from my "team" was going to reach out to me so we could plan our curriculum or if I should just know this information? I feel like I have literally no idea what is going on LOL. I just got the job last week so maybe I'm being too proactive?

Thank you!

3. Leaborb192

Leaborb192 Enthusiast

Jul 8, 2016

Last edited: Feb 4, 2019
  4. agdamity

agdamity Fanatic

Jul 8, 2016

If you don't have contact information for your team, email your principal and ask for it. Your district most likely has a pacing guide for you to follow. In the meantime, you can start collecting activities that match your state standards.

5. Srhhwtt

Srhhwtt Rookie

Jul 8, 2016

I am a new teacher too, so I may not have the best advice. My mentor teacher has already contacted me..I would ask the principal who your mentor will be or the team leader. You can most likely get their contact information from the campus website. My mentor teacher is helping me prepare. So far we have talked about things I may need to purchase for the classroom, what their daily schedule may look like, their current reading and math strategies and trends, and what technology I will need to be familiar with. I have collected my grade level standards and occasionally review them. Before school starts you should be able to meet with the team and work on planning. This is when I will begin planning (they do their planning as a team), but in the mean time I have additionally looked into classroom management techniques and ice breaker activities for the first week of school.