Boundaries/Grading/Likely a Vent.

Discussion in 'General Education' started by Starista, Jan 28, 2015.

1. Starista

Starista Cohort

Jan 28, 2015

Hello Fellow Teachers!

I am a fourth grade teacher at a private school in Southern Florida. I have taught 10 years previously. 6 in a different private school and 3 in a public school (with on year off while pregnant with my amazing son).

I am having a tough time in my new position. It's a smaller school with one class per grade and the aide (who's job is to make my copies and help in any other way) is giving me quite a bit of unsolicited advice about how to teach/what to do. Much of what she suggest is a bit dated and I've tried to show her several times that it's not my style. I show her the standards that we follow, etc.

Today, for example, she mentioned how in 5th grade the children are responsible for a daily journal where they're given a topic and have to write an entire page. The children in grade 5 will be graded on this. My aide is concerned that since I am not spending 1/2 hour on daily journal that my kids won't be prepared for next year. We do Writer's Workshop every day. We are learning how to plan writing, how to edit and revise our work, and how to peer edit.

I am frustrated that I had to explain to her why I am not going to (or even grade) daily journal. It is not my philosophy to EVER tell a student "how many lines" a written response has to be nor would I grade a journal entry (or any writing for that matter) without a rubric.

I kindly shared that with her and she just said "if you want to get them ready for fifth grade, do it. They'll be in for a rude awaking next year if not." :(

Thanks for listening.

3. Pashtun

Pashtun Fanatic

Jan 28, 2015

If you are doing good writing in 4th, they will easily transition to daily journal writing in 5th, imo.

4. Sarge

Sarge Enthusiast

Jan 28, 2015