Boring Social Studies

Discussion in 'Fourth Grade' started by blondie77, Sep 23, 2009.

1. blondie77

blondie77 Rookie

Sep 23, 2009

Help! I need ideas on how to make 4th grade social studies fun. We talk about the regions, states, etc. It is my first year teaching it. Thanks!

3. Brendan

Brendan Fanatic

Sep 23, 2009

Social Studies is not boring. For one take your textbook and forget about it. The textbook is the starting point for your teaching, it is NOT the end all of teaching. Can you be more specific in your units? I could offer suggestions.

4. Ms. Geography

Ms. Geography Comrade

Sep 24, 2009

You are the one that will make it fun for your students! I love teaching ss and you can too if you take the time to know your material and think of creative ways of presenting it to your students. Start big - continents - I use a chant to teach the continents (yep, around here the students might know the continents, but have no clue which one is which). So we do a chant - I'm not musical, but it's like a two beat thing - tap a world map as you go...two taps: North America (pointing & tapping on NA, two taps each: South America, Europe, Asia, Antarctica and Austrailia. Hope this makes sense to you. You tap the chant (song) as you go through the continents. Practice a bit on your own & then teach it to your kids.

5. Emily Bronte

Emily Bronte Groupie

Sep 24, 2009

Social Studies is also my favorite thing to teach! I agree with Brendan...forget about the textbook. Which social studies discipline are you teaching.

6. Ms. Geography

Ms. Geography Comrade

Sep 24, 2009

pm me

with your email address & I'll send you a few things I've found. I teach 7th grade and not American History, but there is so much out there and I'm a saver...for that just in case time when you need something. I'll be glad to share. I've not clue how to attach on here so can't attach them here.

7. blondie77

blondie77 Rookie

Sep 25, 2009