Books or suggestions first year teacher??

Discussion in 'New Teachers Archives' started by Anne Marie, Jun 16, 2005.

1. Anne Marie

Anne Marie Rookie

Jun 16, 2005

Hello! I am currently looking for a job; first year. I was told to buy the book The First Day of School by Harry Wong. I purchased that book yesterday. Does anyone know of any books that would be especially helpful, or have any SUGGESTIONS? I am nervous and I like to be prepared, but from what I heard, I easily could be hired two days before school starts!! :eek:
    My certification is in Elementary Education K-6. Thank you bunches!!!

3. Alyssa29

Alyssa29 Rookie

Jun 16, 2005

I love The First Day of School by Harry Wong. I am a first year teacher too. I was just hired this week to teach 2nd grade. I would love to buy some more books too. I hope you get some good responses. If I think of any I will let you know. Good luck in your job search. I was afraid of not being hired until school started too. Just keep applying and you will find something.

Alyssa

4. hescollin

hescollin Fanatic

Jun 16, 2005

Petunia

Good Morning, I am sending you a private message. Go to the top of the page and click on the flashing light.

5. ~Darlene~

~Darlene~ Rookie

Jun 16, 2005

That Harry Wong book is awesome. My state provides it to all new teachers at the mentor/mentee training.

6. TeachGrd1

TeachGrd1 Rookie

Jun 16, 2005

"The First Days of School" is great! I also like "Teaching with Love and Logic".

7. Anne Marie

Anne Marie Rookie

Jun 17, 2005

Thank you guys for the tips! Please, feel free to post any web sites that have been helpful to you, or just anything else you feel would be helpful! Blessings to you all,
    Anne Marie :angel:

8. Upsadaisy

Upsadaisy Moderator

9. Anne Marie

Anne Marie Rookie

Jun 19, 2005