Books for a classroom library...

Discussion in 'Elementary Education Archives' started by mstnteacherlady, Jun 21, 2007.

1. mstnteacherlady

mstnteacherlady Cohort

Jun 21, 2007

I graduated in December and ended up taking over a 5th grade teaching position (in February) for the remainder of the year. This past week, I signed my contract to be the teacher for the 5th grade class starting in the fall. The teacher who was in the classroom before me is moving to a new school, so she's taking EVERYTHING with her! Can I get a few ideas on how to get some books to organize a classroom library? I have looked on half.com and scholastic's website and am looking into getting some new books. I also thought about going to a smaller used bookstore in town to find some books. Does anyone have any other ideas?

3. Upsadaisy

Upsadaisy Moderator

Jun 21, 2007

I have gotten most at thrift stores. I go crazy when they are 5/$1. Usually, though, they are 25 or 50 cents.

4. funeoz

funeoz Comrade

Jun 21, 2007

There are many threads on this topic that you may want to search for and check out. I started building my classroom library last summer and I'm still going this summer. I got really lucky though because a few weeks ago a retiring teacher just gave me almost her whole library, so definitely spread the word that you are a new teacher in need of resources. I didn't even know the teacher who was retiring, but another teacher knew her and gave her my name and she let me go shopping in her classroom. Fun! I spend a lot of time looking for books at thrift stores. Some of them have tag sales on certain days or other deals so get to know your local thrift stores (salvation army, goodwill, savers). Right now is a great time to shop because people are cleaning out their houses, moving, or retiring. I have found great books at the stores the last few weeks. At first I would buy anything since my classroom had no books, but I've learned to be a little more picky. Good luck!

5. TNTeach5