Book Recommendations

Discussion in 'General Education' started by Teach'em, Aug 10, 2008.

1. Teach'em

Teach'em Companion

Aug 10, 2008

What book(s) made you a better teacher? Any you would highly recommend for new teachers?

3. Mrs. R.

Mrs. R. Connoisseur

Aug 10, 2008

Strategies that Work by Stephanie Harvey and Anne Goudvis changed the way I thought about teaching reading. As a middle school teacher, I always taught literary analysis, not how to read; now I teach kids how to think deeply about what they're reading, and how to pay attention to the clicks and clunks of reading comprehension.
    I also changed as a teacher when I read In the Middle by Nancie Atwell. The idea of teaching in a workshop was powerful for me. I don't try to be just like her, but I have taken parts of what she does and made that fit my particular teaching situation.

4. Weazy

Weazy Comrade

Aug 10, 2008

I teach 9th grade LA. Do you think this book would be beneficial for me at this grade level?

5. Mrs. R.

Mrs. R. Connoisseur

Aug 10, 2008

Actually, I think it could be. It nicely defines the strategies and gives you lesson ideas for how to teach them. The difference for you would be the text you choose to use for your think aloud lessons and for the kids to use for their independent work. For high school, I would also suggest the work of Cris Tovani, who teaches high school in Colorado.

6. trayums

trayums Enthusiast

Aug 10, 2008

Teaching Children to Care/The First Six Weeks of School/Reading with Meaning/The Art of Teaching Reading/The Art of Teaching Writing-- there are more but I can't think at the moment.

7. CanadianTeacher

CanadianTeacher Groupie

Aug 10, 2008