Blurting and calling out in 4th grade

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by AlexaD, Sep 3, 2013.

1. AlexaD

AlexaD Companion

Sep 3, 2013

Has anyone had a fourth grade class that came to you with a bunch of children that frequently called/blurted out in the beginning of the year? What did you do to get success with them raising their hand? From the first day last week, I started working with my students on raising their hands by modeling putting my hand up, or saying sternly, "Raise your hand if you want me to call on you", etc., or ignoring them, and/or giving out consequences, but I'm not pleased that this is happening with fourth graders...I am a first year teacher and would like to curb this ASAP! My consequences are move to yellow (warning), to blue (reflection and loss of 10 minutes of recess), and red (parent call home). I reward the good ones with tickets and frequently call out the ones doing well. Any other techniques to use?

3. bonneb

bonneb Fanatic

Sep 3, 2013

This is totally normal, especially at the first of the year when they are so excited. The most natural and effective consequences are that you give the attention to those raising their hands. The ones who blurt out - don't comment, don't remind, don't turn colors, don't call home. No attention, not a speck, for this unwanted behavior.

You could at the beginning of the day or whenever you gather as a group ask them to tell you the rules of the classroom.

4. ChristyF

ChristyF Moderator

Sep 3, 2013

I agree, it's completely normal. I work hard on ignoring the blurt outs. If they manage to remember to raise their hands I praise them. It's frustrating, but they do learn.

5. Matt633

Matt633 Comrade

Sep 3, 2013

Oh my! I have been teaching for years (27) and my class is unbelievable. Not so much with blurting but talking! If I pause for a second to breath, grab a set of papers etc. They go crazy! Sorry didn't mean to hijack, just frustrated!

6. Pencil Monkey

Pencil Monkey Devotee