Blue collar?

Discussion in 'Debate & Marathon Threads Archive' started by newbie87, Apr 16, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. newbie87

newbie87 Comrade

Apr 16, 2010

I was reading something and it semi talked about education. It was about white collar jobs and blue collar jobs. It basically said teaching is, or is seen as, a blue collar job. Do you think teaching is a blue collared job? Why or why not?

3. Aliceacc

Aliceacc Multitudinous

Apr 16, 2010

I have a Master's Degree. My job deals with education and higher order thinking.

My kids and their parents refer to me as "Mrs. A..."

I wear a suit and stockings on a regular basis.

There's nothing wrong with Blue Collar work-- my brother has happily done it for 30 years.

But I happen to have a White Collar job.

4. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

Apr 16, 2010

By definition:
    The term white-collar worker refers to a salaried professional or an educated worker who performs semi-professional office, administrative, and sales coordination tasks, as opposed to a blue-collar worker, whose job requires manual labor.

As professional educators, some of our job entails some 'hands on' kinds of work and many of us belong to unions or associations but that does not make our profession 'blue collar'. I'm a 'white collar' professional educator.

5. Emily Bronte

Emily Bronte Groupie

Apr 16, 2010

I am also a white collar teaching professional. A lot of people do see education as something along the lines of highly skilled trade. I am just not one of them.

6. YoungTeacherGuy

YoungTeacherGuy Phenom

Apr 16, 2010

I consider myself neither blue collar nor white collar. I think I consider myself "rainbow collar" because as educators, there isn't much we don't do/haven't done! We're jacks of all trades!

7. skittleroo

skittleroo Connoisseur

Apr 16, 2010

My brother works a "blue collared job" and makes over $100,00 a year.
    I work a "white collared job" and make nearly half that.....:0(