Blocking!

Discussion in 'Middle School / Junior High' started by Lark22, Jul 26, 2008.

1. Lark22

Lark22 New Member

Jul 26, 2008

I needed help with a blocking schedule. I have been teaching for 7 years and each year I have taught something different. Last year I was teaching 7th and 8th grade reading...this year I only have 7th graders but I have them for writing and grammar. We are going to a blocking schedule (90 mins) and I have no idea how I want to piece everything together. I have a reading and writing book, which my students will be doing novels as well, but I am looking for someone that can share their day to day routine. For example, do you do DOL when they come in, then have them write in their journals, then do a reading assignment...???? I am just so confused on what I actually want to do in the classroom. Could anyone give me any ideas on what you do in your language arts class??? Thanks!!!!

3. LoVe 2 TcH

LoVe 2 TcH Companion

Jul 26, 2008

My LA class is like a block schedule. I do 1. DOL/ Writing Prompt (usually related to what we are focusing on) when they first come in. 2. We go over the DOL or share the writing prompts. 3. I, then, explain the lesson and they start the practice. I usually give them time to do their work in class.

If we are working on a writing assignment I let them write and then give them more instruction.

If we are doing grammar, I explain the lesson and give them time to work on the exercises in the book. We go over them as a class. If the kids need extra practice I assign more. If they understand the lesson, I will go on to another lesson.

At the end of the period, they have about 5-10 minutes to explain what they learned. I collect and grade the assignment.

Last edited: Jul 26, 2008
  4. Mrs. R.

Mrs. R. Connoisseur

Jul 26, 2008

Here's my daily routine: