Block Scheduling

Discussion in 'High School' started by toughgrl1123, Aug 5, 2008.

1. toughgrl1123

toughgrl1123 Rookie

Aug 5, 2008

I will be teaching high school this year, which uses block scheduling. Does anyone have any tips on how to handle 80 min. classes?

3. Marci07

Marci07 Devotee

Aug 5, 2008

I was just thinking of posting this same post. My block schedule is of 90 minutes. If anybody has any ideas I would like to know also.

4. MsMar

MsMar Fanatic

Aug 5, 2008

Add me to the list of curious people without advice! I'm new to high school and will have 80 minute blocks. I know it will be great in my Intro to Foods class as I'll be able to do longer labs. My Nutrition class is more like a regular class though so I'd love to hear how traditional subject teachers handle the long block.

5. LMath85

LMath85 Companion

Aug 5, 2008

This year I taught 1 double period math class for 90minutes everyday. I must say the first few weeks were a DRAG (I mean, how exciting can I make multiplying numbers?!) but once those warm-up lessons were over it turned out to be my favorite period of the day. There is just SO much time to do whatever you want.

This is usually how my 90 minutes went

-Problem of the Day/Homework (about 10-15mins)
    -Lesson (Approx. 40mins)
    -Group/Individual Work

I honestly found that bringing in activities made the time pass by fast. I played a few games with them and that was fun. Who would have thought you gave a 9th grade student construction paper & markers and they would absolutely love it! I also gave them a break when the class-change bell rang midway at 45mins. So for 3minutes they could relax...

I don't know if your school can give you a class set of books but that was helpful. For the second period they would go to the final cabinets get their workbooks and I'd assign them 10-12 problems to do in their groups.