Black History Month

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by mstnteacherlady, Jan 25, 2008.

1. mstnteacherlady

mstnteacherlady Cohort

Jan 25, 2008

Any plans for Black History Month? My students began asking today what we would be doing. I have not planned yet and need some ideas. Since this is my first year, I have not taught during Feb. Any ideas? Some students asked me if they could do reports. If you do reports, what kind of guidelines do you give? (btw, I teach 5th grade.)
    Ok...that turned out to be three questions instead of one. Sorry. Hope everyone had a great week. I know I am definitely celebrating the weekend right now. (It's a weekly holiday in my life. :))

3. dxiechicken41

dxiechicken41 Rookie

Jan 25, 2008

Hi there. This is my first year, also. I also teach 5th grade. I am going to have them make mobiles. They will choose from a large list that I made of famous African Americans. They will print/draw a picture of the person on both sides of the main piece of the mobile. Hanging from it will be 4 'chunks': why is the person famous, how does this person affect your life, what did/can you learn from this person, and student choice piece of information. I'll have them research one class period and create during one class period. If I had my flashdrive, I'd send you the research sheet I made...hope this helps!

4. MissFrizzle

MissFrizzle Virtuoso

Jan 25, 2008

I will try to find the link, but there was just another recent thread on this topic. Some activities were presented that may interest you.

Today, I read the story called, Just Passing By about Sojourner Truth.

5. MissFrizzle

MissFrizzle Virtuoso

6. mstnteacherlady

mstnteacherlady Cohort

Jan 26, 2008

MissFrizzle, thanks for posting that link. I browsed through to make sure there wasn't already a thread started, but I still missed it! haha