Black History Month: Novel

Discussion in 'Fifth Grade' started by brit2187, Jan 22, 2011.

1. brit2187

brit2187 Rookie

Jan 22, 2011

I need some input for Black History Month. This is my first year of teaching and I am looking to purchase a class set of books to depict slavery times for my fifth graders. I have these three books in mind:

The Watsons go to Birmingham
    Bud, Not Buddy
    Elijah of Buxton

I have read them all of them but none recently. I was wondering which would be a better novel study for this important time. Or if there are other suggestions. Has anyone done anything similar? I could also let the students vote....? Input please!

3. Mark94544

Mark94544 Companion

Jan 22, 2011

Both Bud, Not Buddy (set in the 1930s) and The Watsons Go to Birmingham - 1963 are both excellent books, but neither is about "slavery times". I haven't had the experience of teaching either book, nor have I taught fifth-graders.

I haven't read Elijah of Buxton; the book's setting is an Ontario town founded by former slaves, from the perspective of a child born there; "readers learn about conditions in slavery at a distance, though the horrors become increasingly apparent." (http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/0439023440?ie=UTF8&tag=timstore06-20)

The Watsons Go to Birmingham - 1963 has a very direct civil-rights-era history connection, but it's also very "intense," especially for fifth graders.

Do you have any specific objectives for this unit? Are you willing to devote extra class time to addressing some of the specific context for these novels?

http://lessonindex.com/Bud,_Not_Buddy_by_Christopher_Paul_Curtis.htm

http://lessonindex.com/The_Watsons_Go_to_Birmingham_-_1963_by_Christopher_Paul_Curtis.htm

http://www.lessonindex.com/Elijah_of_Buxton_by_Christopher_Paul_Curtis.htm

4. mopar

mopar Multitudinous

Jan 22, 2011

The Watsons Go to Birmingham is one of our summer reading novels for sixth to seventh....the content might be a little difficult for fifth grade.